logo2

DUIs in Utah: What Are the Consequences?

When it comes to DUI laws, Utah has perhaps the strictest in the nation. Under state law, a person is legally drunk if their BAC is .05 or higher. In addition, the state has a “not a drop” law, meaning anyone under age 21 is prohibited from driving if they have any alcohol in their system. If you are facing DUI charges, the consequences can be severe. Therefore, hire experienced Salt Lake City DUI lawyers from InfiniTeam Legal Solutions to represent you in court.

Refusing a Blood or Breath Test
If you are arrested for DUI and refuse a breathalyzer or blood test, Utah’s “implied consent” laws may lead to your driver’s license being suspended. For your first offense, the suspension will be for 18 months. However, for two or more offenses, the suspension will last 36 months. If you are facing this scenario, always have Salt Lake City DUI lawyers on your side who will fight hard to get these suspensions reduced or eliminated.

Jail or Prison

As for a jail sentence, your first DUI offense will mean a mandatory 48 hours in jail or 48 hours of community service, with a maximum jail sentence of 180 days, 1 year or up to 5 years depending on if a child was present or the severity of any injuries or a death. As for a 2nd DUI offenses, you can be staring at a minimum of 10 days in jail (or 5 days of jail and 30 days of house arrest) to as much as five years in prison, depending upon the circumstances.  A 3rd DUI or beyond has a minimum of 62 ½ days of jail time with the possibility of up to 5 years in prison.

Ignition Interlock Device

In addition to other penalties, when convicted of a DUI the Driver’s License Division will require you to have an Ignition Interlock Device “IID” installed on your vehicle for 18 months.  The IID will not let you start the vehicle until you have passed a breathalyzer type of test each time you start the car.  A Judge can also extend the amount of time you are required to have the IID in your vehicle.

Since plea bargains are common in DUI cases, schedule an immediate consultation with the knowledgeable attorneys at InfiniTeam Legal Solutions. By doing so, you will have Salt Lake City DUI lawyers who can work hard on your behalf.

When it comes to DUI laws, Utah has perhaps the strictest in the nation. Under state law, a person is legally drunk if their BAC is .05 or higher. In addition, the state has a “not a drop” law, meaning anyone under age 21 is prohibited from driving if they have any alcohol in their system. If you are facing DUI charges, the consequences can be severe. Therefore, hire experienced Salt Lake City DUI lawyers from InfiniTeam Legal Solutions to represent you in court.

Refusing a Blood or Breath Test
If you are arrested for DUI and refuse a breathalyzer or blood test, Utah’s “implied consent” laws may lead to your driver’s license being suspended. For your first offense, the suspension will be for 18 months. However, for two or more offenses, the suspension will last 36 months. If you are facing this scenario, always have Salt Lake City DUI lawyers on your side who will fight hard to get these suspensions reduced or eliminated.

Jail or Prison

As for a jail sentence, your first DUI offense will mean a mandatory 48 hours in jail or 48 hours of community service, with a maximum jail sentence of 180 days, 1 year or up to 5 years depending on if a child was present or the severity of any injuries or a death. As for a 2nd DUI offenses, you can be staring at a minimum of 10 days in jail (or 5 days of jail and 30 days of house arrest) to as much as five years in prison, depending upon the circumstances.  A 3rd DUI or beyond has a minimum of 62 ½ days of jail time with the possibility of up to 5 years in prison.

Ignition Interlock Device

In addition to other penalties, when convicted of a DUI the Driver’s License Division will require you to have an Ignition Interlock Device “IID” installed on your vehicle for 18 months.  The IID will not let you start the vehicle until you have passed a breathalyzer type of test each time you start the car.  A Judge can also extend the amount of time you are required to have the IID in your vehicle.

Since plea bargains are common in DUI cases, schedule an immediate consultation with the knowledgeable attorneys at InfiniTeam Legal Solutions. By doing so, you will have Salt Lake City DUI lawyers who can work hard on your behalf.

Our offices in Salt Lake City, UT provides legal services to the following counties: Davis, Weber, Cache, Morgan, Tooele, Summit, Iron and Washington Counties.

Address

299 So. Main Street # 1300
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Phone

UT: 801-889-2560
WA: 425-533-4476

Cell Phone / Text Messaging — 801-712-8990
Fax: 866-559-9014